s o w e t o

St. Augustine's Church, Soweto, Namibia


A Brief History of the Parish


St. Augustine’s Church, Soweto, is one of the six parishes in Windhoek, the capital city of Namibia. Soweto is a township created by the then Apartheid government of Namibia and has a population of about 14,000 from different parts of the country with at least seven major language groups.

The parish of St. Augustine’s was erected in 1985, to cater to the spiritual needs of the people living in Soweto area. The priest used to stay in the main parish of Katutura and serve the community from there.

On 30th September 2007, the Missionaries of St. Francis de Sales was entrusted with the parish of Soweto and Fr. Joseph Kunjaparambil was appointed as parish priest. On 25th April 2008, after handing over the parish of Bonteheuwel in Cape Town, Fr. Lukose Perumannikala joined the parish team at Soweto. In June 2009, Fr. Lukose left for Ongah and in the following year Fr. Devasia Manalel came to assist at Soweto.


On 25 May 2014, Fr. Joseph Kunjaparambil was transferred to Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, Keetmanshoop. Fr. Saju Thalayinakandathil took over the charge from the 01st of June 2014.

The Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion assist the priest on Sundays and the Funeral Leaders conduct the funeral services. There are many ministries like the Ushers, Sacristans, Altar Servers, Cantors, Readers and Catechists that enhance the functioning and ministry in the parish. Associations and pious organizations like Bloukring and Jongwag (for the children between 9-18), Senior Youth, Unity Youth Choir, Church Choir, Ame Neumbo Lange, Our Journey Together, Legion of Mary, Anna Vroue, , Charismatic Movement, Parish Youth Group, St. Vincent de Paul Society, Soup Men’s and Women’s Groups, Mothers’ Circle and Catholic Aid Action are some of the groups that operate under the supervision of the parish pastoral committee.